Comparison

Otter.ai vs EchoPilot

Otter.ai ends at the transcript and a summary. EchoPilot records on the devices you own, with no bot in the call, and finishes at a task you approved.

  • Minutes, transcript, Ask and approved actions
  • Mobile, desktop and web
At a glanceEchoPilotOtter.ai
A bot in the participant list Never Optional: the agent joins the call
Extra hardware needed No No
Longest single recording 4 hours on Pro, 1 hour on Free 90 minutes on Pro; 4 hours on Business
Nothing leaves the app until you approve it Yes: one card per commitment, one destination, your confirmation Not stated

Why EchoPilot

  • Every meeting counts, not just the scheduled calls. A phone on the table records the room as naturally as the desktop app records a video call, and an Apple Watch catches the conversation you would not have got your phone out for.
  • Nothing joins the participant list. No bot, nothing to invite, nothing for a client to notice or a policy to object to.
  • Four-hour recordings on the $11.99 plan, not on a business tier.
  • The commitments become work. One card per commitment, one destination already chosen, nothing created until you approve it, in Todoist, Google Tasks, Microsoft To Do, Apple Reminders, Notion, Slack, calendars, Drive, OneDrive, Teams or Mail.
  • One price for one person, across phone, watch, Mac, Windows and web. No seats to count.

What EchoPilot does not do

  • EchoPilot transcribes after the recording rather than live on screen while the meeting runs. The minutes, transcript and cards arrive when you stop.
  • EchoPilot is built for one person. There are no shared team workspaces, admin controls or per-seat billing.
  • Approved actions route to task managers, calendars, notes and messaging rather than into a CRM or an issue tracker.
Full comparison

Every capability, side by side.

Feature comparison between EchoPilot and Otter.ai
Capability EchoPilot Otter.ai
Where it runs iPhone, Android, Mac, Windows, web, Apple Watch iPhone, Android, Mac, Windows, web, Chrome
Extra hardware needed No No
How it captures Your phone in the room, your own Mac or PC for a call, plus Apple Watch An agent that joins the call, or desktop, mobile and Chrome recording
A bot in the participant list Never Optional: the agent joins the call
Longest single recording 4 hours on Pro, 1 hour on Free 90 minutes on Pro; 4 hours on Business
Live transcription while the meeting runs No: the transcript arrives after the recording Yes
Speaker labels in the transcript Per-meeting labels you rename or merge; otherwise honestly unattributed Speaker recognition
Minutes: title, summary, notes, key points, action items Yes, with a content-based title and timestamps on every point Summaries, mind maps and action items
Correct a misheard line, then rebuild Yes, with the original kept as evidence Yes, transcript editing
Ask questions across your recordings Yes: read-only, with cited timestamps Otter AI Chat
Approved actions pushed into your task apps Todoist, Google Tasks, Microsoft To Do, Apple Reminders, Notion, Slack, calendars, Drive, OneDrive, Teams, Mail Asana, Jira, Notion, Slack, Salesforce, HubSpot and more
Nothing leaves the app until you approve it Yes: one card per commitment, one destination, your confirmation Not stated
Price Free includes 300 meeting minutes in the first 30 days, then 120 every 30 days. Pro is $11.99/month or $89/year. One person, not per seat. Free tier of 300 minutes a month. Pro $16.99/user/month, or $8.33 billed annually. Business $30, or $19.99 billed annually

Otter.ai details reflect Otter.ai's published information as of 3 September 2026, and list prices before promotions, excluding tax.

The longer version

Otter.ai and EchoPilot, in depth.

Otter made automatic meeting transcription normal. The question worth asking is not whether transcription works. It is what you are left holding afterwards, and how many of your meetings the tool can actually reach.

Nothing joins your meeting

Otter can send an agent into a call, where it appears in the participant list and records.

EchoPilot never does. It records on the phone in the room or on your own Mac or PC, so nothing is invited, nothing shows up in a participant list, and nothing has to be explained to a client or cleared against a policy. The same pipeline handles a video call, a conversation across a table, a phone call from the car and a decision made standing in a corridor. A bot can only attend the meetings it was invited to; a phone attends all of them.

What you get back

Otter returns a transcript, summaries, mind maps and action items. EchoPilot returns a complete record and then does something with it.

Meeting Minutes arrive as a structured document: a title taken from the content, a summary, chaptered timestamped notes, key points anchored to the moment they came from, action items, your highlights, and the full transcript. Each section loads and recovers on its own.

The transcript stays connected to the audio. Search it with match counts and stepping, tap any line to hear that exact moment, rename or merge speaker turns on supported Pro meetings, and correct a misheard line without losing the original, which stays underneath as evidence while anything built on the old wording is flagged for rebuild.

Ask answers questions across one meeting, a recurring series, or everything you have recorded, citing the moment it used. It is read-only and never creates, edits or sends anything.

Action cards are the step the category stops short of. Every commitment becomes one card with one destination already chosen, sitting in a review queue. You read it, change the destination if the guess was wrong, and confirm. Only then does anything appear in Todoist, Google Tasks, Microsoft To Do, Apple Reminders, Notion, Slack, a calendar or a draft email. There is no setting that turns that review off. Otter’s published pages describe a broad integration list without describing a per-item review gate, so this page says “Not stated” rather than claiming an absence.

Four hours, on the entry plan

Otter’s published limits put a 90-minute ceiling on a Pro recording and four hours on Business. EchoPilot records four hours on the $11.99 plan, in the background, with the screen locked, writing audio to disk in segments as it goes so a crash costs seconds rather than the meeting. A meeting spends meeting minutes and nothing else; it never also uses one of your voice captures.

One person, one price

Otter is priced per user, from $16.99 a month on Pro. EchoPilot is $11.99 a month or $89 a year for one person, with no seats, and that one subscription covers the iPhone app, Android, the Mac and Windows capture apps, the Apple Watch companion and the web app.

If you are buying for yourself, the difference is exactly what it looks like.

FAQ

Questions worth answering.

Does a bot join my meeting?
No. EchoPilot records on the phone in the room, or on your own computer for an online call. There is no meeting bot to invite, nothing appears in the participant list, and there is no extra recorder to buy, so it works for in-person meetings as well as calls.
Can I search a transcript and hear that moment?
Yes. The transcript is searchable with match counts and next/previous stepping, every line carries a timestamp, and tapping a line plays the recording from there. The follow-along highlight tracks the audio closely; it is a reading aid rather than subtitle-grade timing.
Does EchoPilot label who said what?
On Pro, and only when you ask. Identifying speakers is the most expensive thing EchoPilot does, so it runs when you tap for it rather than automatically: for supported meetings it produces timestamped speaker turns you can rename or merge per meeting. When reliable attribution is unavailable, it shows the full transcript without names and says so rather than guessing. On Free the transcript is shown by timestamp.
iPhone, Android, Mac, Windows and web

Record one meeting and see the difference.

Record the next conversation you would otherwise have taken notes in. You get the Meeting Minutes, a searchable transcript, answers you can ask for, and every commitment drafted as a card waiting for your approval.

Questions? support@echopilotapp.com